The 13 Colonies
The Southern Colonies had fertile flat large land areas perfect for farming rice, cotton, tobacco, and indigo on large plantations.

The Middle Colonies had better soil suitable for small farms of grains such as wheat and rye.  They were called “The Breadbasket Colonies”.

The New England Colonies had rocky soil poor for farming but forests full of riches for ship building, whaling, and fishing.